A couple of aggravating issues...

SnarkFish57

I'm a total newbie to the whole "VDP" universe and I'm trying to learn to use FusionPro by going through the tutorials included with the application, but I keep encountering problems with it that I cannot overcome. I'm not sure if it's a incompatibility problems or something else.

I'm running the latest version of FusionPro through Quark 7.3 and Acrobat Professional 8.1.2, on a Mac OS 10.4.11 1.25 Ghz PowerPC G4 with 764 MB DDR SDRAM

We are currently using Suitcase X1 as our fonts management utility. We also have FontBook for system fonts.

I have been using the tutorial file for the post card, that has variable frames for text and graphics. I have no problem with the Quark file, setting up variable frame export options, using the template that comes with the FusionPro software.

I have no problem exporting the document from Quark through the FusionPro plug-in.

However, when the PDF opens in Acrobat 8.0, one of the text boxes that holds variable data has shifted position and is now over on the right-hand side of the document, in the pasteboard area. I can manually move it back into position, but I'm quite certain it should not be moving at all. I've tried using an earlier version of Acrobat Profession (7), and it does the same things.

I have no problem defining data sources and associate images. But when I get to the "Variable Text Editor", I cannot get any fonts to show up on the dropdown menu. When I try using FusionPro's "Load Fonts" command, FusionPro will quit every single time. EVERY time. No matter what version of Acrobat Professional I use. It will start right back up, but it does not work when I try to load fonts.

I have tried going into Suitcase and deactivating every font except the ones I'm using in the tutorial file, but FusionPro still quits when I go to "Load Fonts".