Go Back   MarcomCentral (PTI) and FusionPro User Communities > Software-Related Talk > The JavaScript Library > Getting Started, Learning, Etc.

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 5th, 2019, 09:38 PM
-Lisa- -Lisa- is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 190
Default Adding Pages

I'm not sure why I'm having so much difficulty with this one. I'm sure the answer is obvious:

Working on a kiss cut label template set 4 up on a page in my template with a static background.

There are up to 16 available fields in the data. I need to add additional pages with the same static background when data is present in fields 5 through 16. Field 6 won't exist unless there's data in Field 5. Field 10 won't exist unless there's data in Field 5 through 9, etc.

I thought a basic OnRecordStart rule would work by creating a 4 page template and then enabling/disabling pages based on the presence of data in any field after #4 like this:

Code:
if(Field("Card5") == "")
{
FusionPro.Composition.SetBodyPageUsage("Page2", false);
FusionPro.Composition.SetBodyPageUsage("Page3", false)
FusionPro.Composition.SetBodyPageUsage("Page4", false);

if(Field("Card5") !="" && Field("Card9") =="" && Field("Card13") =="")
{
FusionPro.Composition.SetBodyPageUsage("Page2", true);
FusionPro.Composition.SetBodyPageUsage("Page3", false)
FusionPro.Composition.SetBodyPageUsage("Page4", false);
}
else
if(Field("Card5") !="" && Field("Card9") !="" && Field("Card13") =="")
{
FusionPro.Composition.SetBodyPageUsage("Page2", true);
FusionPro.Composition.SetBodyPageUsage("Page3", true);
FusionPro.Composition.SetBodyPageUsage("Page4", false);
}
else
if(Field("Card5") !="" && Field("Card9") !="" && Field("Card13") !="")
FusionPro.Composition.SetBodyPageUsage("Page2", true);
FusionPro.Composition.SetBodyPageUsage("Page3", true);
FusionPro.Composition.SetBodyPageUsage("Page4", true);
}
Obviously I'm way off base here.

Any thoughts?
__________________
Lisa B.
FusionPro VDP Creator 10.0.16
Adobe Acrobat Pro DC 2018
Mac OS X 10.13.6 (High Sierra)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old November 6th, 2019, 08:44 AM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is online now
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,598
Default Re: Adding Pages

Well, you could use Overflow pages, and let the composition engine decide for you when additional pages are necessary. Then you wouldn't need any code for this at all.

But with your current setup, I think this will work, if you initially set all the pages in question (2, 3, and 4) to be Unused in the Page Usage dialog:
Code:
FusionPro.Composition.SetBodyPageUsage("Page2", (Field("Card5"));
FusionPro.Composition.SetBodyPageUsage("Page3", (Field("Card9"));
FusionPro.Composition.SetBodyPageUsage("Page4", (Field("Card13"));
The other wrinkle here is the imposition ("4 up on a page"). Imposition requires each record to output the same number of pages. So you might be better off simply outputting all the pages, even if some are blank.
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2011, PTI Marketing Technologies™, Inc.