Go Back   PTI Marketing Technologies User Community > Software-Related Talk > The JavaScript Library > Barcodes

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 24th, 2015, 09:54 AM
Cody Williams Cody Williams is offline
Forum n00b
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 6
Default Problem with 3 of 9 Barcode encoding astericks* of dashes -

Hope someone can help me. I have data that I need to make into a Code39 barcode and I'm using the FusionPro function "Make39Barcode" on a string like this *U131k14299503*51007 or a string like this W4-A-2C and I get a /J for * and a /M for - in my barcode reader. I know FusionPro uses the IDAutomation fonts for encoding their barcodes and I went to their website to do some research and it appears that they have a special version of the barcode39 font that handles symbols and it is called "IDAutomationSC39S.ttf" which is not provided by FusionPro. I'm curious is there a workaround in FusionPro to encode these symbols correctly so that they read as * or - in various barcode readers instead of reading as /J and /M or can FusionPro provide that Font "IDAutomationSC39S.ttf" for the user base for encoding symbols in a barcode39. Any and all help welcome.

Thanks
Cody Williams
Windows 7
Acrobat 9.5.5
FusionPro Ver. 8.2.7
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 24th, 2015, 12:52 PM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,204
Default Re: Problem with 3 of 9 Barcode encoding astericks* of dashes -

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cody Williams View Post
I went to their website to do some research and it appears that they have a special version of the barcode39 font that handles symbols and it is called "IDAutomationSC39S.ttf"
What led you to that conclusion?

According to this page:
http://www.idautomation.com/barcode-...fontnames.html

The only difference between the IDAutomationC39S font that ships with FusionPro and the IDAutomationSC39S font is that the latter is an evaluation version. You already have the full "purchased" version of the font installed with FusionPro (through a redistribution agreement that PTI has with IDAutomation).

If you try a Google search for "IDAutomationSC39S.ttf", you can probably fine a version of that to download (although the legality of that may be questionable, even though it's an evaluation version), but I would expect the output with that font to be exactly the same as with the font that ships with FusionPro.

I think you may be confusing the evaluation versions of the fonts with the symbol-encoded versions described here:
http://www.idautomation.com/product-...ode-fonts.html
Those fonts have names with the letter "Y" in them, such as "IDAutomationYHC39S".

Or perhaps you need the "Extended" Code 39 Barcode Fonts described here:
http://www.idautomation.com/barcode-...xtended39.html
Those fonts have names with the letters "Y" and "X" in them, such as "IDAutomationYXHC39S".

Beyond that, I wouldn't necessarily judge the validity of a barcode from a single data point of how one particular set of reader hardware and software interprets it.

Or perhaps there's something about FusionPro's Make39Barcode function that could be improved to better encode the data. I think you would need to inquire about custom template-building for that. However, if you have an example of a barcode generated from another application that scans the way you want, and you want to post it here, I might be able to take a little bit of time to analyze it.
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});

Last edited by Dan Korn; March 24th, 2015 at 12:55 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 24th, 2015, 01:10 PM
tobarstep tobarstep is offline
Regular Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 71
Default Re: Problem with 3 of 9 Barcode encoding astericks* of dashes -

One thing to note about standard Code 39 is that the asterisk (*) is used to delimit the data and can't normally be used in the data. That yours is allowing it and returning a /J seems to indicate that you're actually using an extended Code 39 as described here and here. I don't know abut the /M unless your dash is being interpreted as an en or em dash. The second link I posted also indicates that if you are using the extended ASCII Code 39 then your scanner needs to be set up for it or it will return the data as /J, etc.

I'd try encoding just some standard alphanumeric data [0-9][A-Z] and see how that scans.
__________________
FusionPro VDP 9.3.12 Desktop/Server
Windows 7 Enterprise / Windows Server 2008 r2
Acrobat X

Last edited by tobarstep; March 25th, 2015 at 06:13 AM..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2011, PTI Marketing Technologies™, Inc.