Go Back   MarcomCentral (PTI) and FusionPro User Communities > Software-Related Talk > The JavaScript Library > Getting Started, Learning, Etc.

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 26th, 2010, 05:08 PM
TMD TMD is offline
Forum n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7
Default If then else is null rule

I need help figuring out where I'm going wrong on this script. I used the Text Rule Wizard. I want to print a block of formated text (resource) whenever a field is null. "is null" is not one of my choices in the Text Rule Wizard. I improvised & typed it into the wizard. Here's what it looks like:
If Text value of [field] is null
Then Return [resource], [field]
When I use the rule - nothing happens. Here's the javascript looks like:
if (Field("EMAIL") == String("null"))
{
return "<span>" + Resource("EmailMsg").content + Field("EMAIL") + "</span>";
}
return "";
I can do this kind of stuff in Access, but for some reason, FP confuses me.
I'm hoping someone besides me works weekends because I need to figure this out over the weekend for production on Monday.
Thanks,
Shelly

P.S. I also need to do a similar script for inserting a comma between two fields if one of the fields "is not null".
__________________
Shelly Blake | shelly@themailingdepartment.com
The Mailing Department | 847.776.9697
System: WinXP
Acrobat 8.1.3
FusionPro 6.1P1e
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 29th, 2010, 09:16 AM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,626
Default Re: If then else is null rule

You most likely just want to compare the Field value to an empty string, like so:
Code:
if (Field("EMAIL") == "")
  return "";
// else do something else with the non-empty value...
String("null") simply refers to a literal string whose value is the word "null". JavaScript does have the concept of a variable (object) with a null value, but it's seldom used, and FusionPro's built-in functions (Field, Rule, Resource, etc.) never return a null value. FusionPro doesn't have quite the same concept of a "null" field as in an SQL query to a database application such as Access.

If the named data field exists in the input data source for the job, then the Field function always returns a valid string (which may be empty). If the field does not exist, then the Field function throws an exception, which can be handled with a try/catch block.

So, if you have a field in the job, and you want to test if the value is empty, you should simply compare it to an empty string, as above. Or you can take advantage of JavaScript's built-in conversion to Boolean where an empty string is treated as false by using the "not" operator, like so:
Code:
if (!Field("EMAIL"))
  return "";
Again, the code above detects the case where the field is valid and present in the data source, but with an empty value for a particular record. This is different than the case where the field is undefined in the job; in that case, an exception is thrown, which will report an error in your log file, and (for text variables) will result in the field name being placed in curly brackets in the output. If you want to detect this particular case where the field is undefined, you can use a try/catch block like so:
Code:
try
{
  if (!Field("EMAIL"))
  return "";
}
catch (e)
{
  // do something else here?
  Print("Field is undefined!");
  return "";
}
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});

Last edited by Dan Korn; March 29th, 2010 at 10:00 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 30th, 2010, 11:02 AM
TMD TMD is offline
Forum n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7
Default Re: If then else is null rule

Thanks David - having it equal a "space" is exactly what I needed!
sb
__________________
Shelly Blake | shelly@themailingdepartment.com
The Mailing Department | 847.776.9697
System: WinXP
Acrobat 8.1.3
FusionPro 6.1P1e
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2011, PTI Marketing Technologies™, Inc.