Go Back   MarcomCentral (PTI) and FusionPro User Communities > Software-Related Talk > FusionPro® VDP Creator

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 6th, 2014, 06:31 AM
Sdawson Sdawson is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 22
Default FP Imposer - Multiple Pages One Sheet

I have a 2 page 8.5 x 11 PDF and when I compose with a simple 2up imposition I get a 11 x 17 with Record 1 on the left and Record 2 on the right. Is there a way to get Record 1 Page 1 on the left and Record 1 Page 2 on the right? All on the same side? FP Imposer it seems to be record driven and each page creates a new page. Is there a way to make it page driven and when it runs out of pages it goes to the next record?

Is FP Imposer the answer or is there something I can create in FusionPro using Javascript?
__________________
FusionPro Creator 9.3.21
Adobe Acrobat 9.0 Pro
Windows 7

Last edited by Sdawson; August 6th, 2014 at 06:35 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old August 6th, 2014, 07:09 AM
dreimer dreimer is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Shakopee, MN
Posts: 495
Default Re: FP Imposer

Do you have an example of what you are trying to accomplish? Are all records two pages or does the page count vary?
__________________
Don Reimer - JavaScript Novice

MAC OS 10.14.6 Acrobat DC FP Creator 12.0.1
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old August 6th, 2014, 07:39 AM
Sdawson Sdawson is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 22
Default Re: FP Imposer

Here you go.
Attached Files
File Type: zip 2pageFile.zip (7.94 MB, 14 views)
File Type: pdf TryingToAccomplish.pdf (326.1 KB, 23 views)
File Type: pdf CurrentOutput.pdf (33.1 KB, 12 views)
__________________
FusionPro Creator 9.3.21
Adobe Acrobat 9.0 Pro
Windows 7

Last edited by Sdawson; August 6th, 2014 at 07:42 AM.. Reason: added CurrentOutput.pdf
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old August 6th, 2014, 08:03 AM
dreimer dreimer is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Shakopee, MN
Posts: 495
Default Re: FP Imposer

So are all records going to be two pages?
__________________
Don Reimer - JavaScript Novice

MAC OS 10.14.6 Acrobat DC FP Creator 12.0.1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old August 6th, 2014, 08:14 AM
Sdawson Sdawson is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 22
Default Re: FP Imposer

Yes, all records will be two pages.
__________________
FusionPro Creator 9.3.21
Adobe Acrobat 9.0 Pro
Windows 7
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old August 6th, 2014, 08:25 AM
dreimer dreimer is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Shakopee, MN
Posts: 495
Default Re: FP Imposer

Well what I was going to try won't work anyway. Why not just have your FP template be 17X11 and place your two 8.5 X 11 pages side by side since they are all two pages?
__________________
Don Reimer - JavaScript Novice

MAC OS 10.14.6 Acrobat DC FP Creator 12.0.1
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old August 6th, 2014, 08:38 AM
Sdawson Sdawson is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 22
Default Re: FP Imposer

That is my current process. I am wondering if there is another way to do it using FP Imposer. I would like to take the 2 page PDF I receive from the client, then connect to the data, import my variable fields, and grab my imposition file then compose. Instead of receiving a file from the client and making it into a 17x11. I currently make page 1 and page 2 a resource and just add them to my 17x11 template.

Thank you for your help dreimer.
__________________
FusionPro Creator 9.3.21
Adobe Acrobat 9.0 Pro
Windows 7
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old August 6th, 2014, 12:10 PM
dreimer dreimer is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Shakopee, MN
Posts: 495
Default Re: FP Imposer

I am trying to do something similar and thought Fusion Pro could do it. I have a 30 page PDF of one-ups that is ready to go and I just want to impose it to 15 per imposed sheet and I can't seem to do it.
__________________
Don Reimer - JavaScript Novice

MAC OS 10.14.6 Acrobat DC FP Creator 12.0.1
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old August 6th, 2014, 02:01 PM
step's Avatar
step step is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 957
Default Re: FP Imposer

Since your document is 2 pages it wants to impose these as a collated set. You can get around this by repeating each record twice (once for each page) and turning off the 2nd page the first time and the 1st page the second time. To do this you'll just need to add this to an OnRecordStart callback rule:
Code:
FusionPro.Composition.repeatRecordCount = 2;
FusionPro.Composition.SetBodyPageUsage(1, FusionPro.Composition.repeatRecordNumber == 1);
FusionPro.Composition.SetBodyPageUsage(2, FusionPro.Composition.repeatRecordNumber == 2);
__________________
Ste Pennell
FusionPro VDP Creator 9.3.15
Adobe Acrobat X 10.1.1
Mac OS X 10.12

LinkedIn
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old August 8th, 2014, 09:32 AM
dreimer dreimer is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Shakopee, MN
Posts: 495
Default Re: FP Imposer

Step, I tried your rule for my scenario since no one else has responded to what I was trying. So my code looks like this to get my 26 page PDF imposed using my imposition file.

Code:
FusionPro.Composition.repeatRecordCount = 26;
FusionPro.Composition.SetBodyPageUsage(1, FusionPro.Composition.repeatRecordNumber == 1);
FusionPro.Composition.SetBodyPageUsage(2, FusionPro.Composition.repeatRecordNumber == 2);
FusionPro.Composition.SetBodyPageUsage(3, FusionPro.Composition.repeatRecordNumber == 3);
FusionPro.Composition.SetBodyPageUsage(4, FusionPro.Composition.repeatRecordNumber == 4);
FusionPro.Composition.SetBodyPageUsage(5, FusionPro.Composition.repeatRecordNumber == 5);
FusionPro.Composition.SetBodyPageUsage(6, FusionPro.Composition.repeatRecordNumber == 6);
FusionPro.Composition.SetBodyPageUsage(7, FusionPro.Composition.repeatRecordNumber == 7);
FusionPro.Composition.SetBodyPageUsage(8, FusionPro.Composition.repeatRecordNumber == 8);
FusionPro.Composition.SetBodyPageUsage(9, FusionPro.Composition.repeatRecordNumber == 9);
FusionPro.Composition.SetBodyPageUsage(10, FusionPro.Composition.repeatRecordNumber == 10);
FusionPro.Composition.SetBodyPageUsage(11, FusionPro.Composition.repeatRecordNumber == 11);
FusionPro.Composition.SetBodyPageUsage(12, FusionPro.Composition.repeatRecordNumber == 12);
FusionPro.Composition.SetBodyPageUsage(13, FusionPro.Composition.repeatRecordNumber == 13);
FusionPro.Composition.SetBodyPageUsage(14, FusionPro.Composition.repeatRecordNumber == 14);
FusionPro.Composition.SetBodyPageUsage(15, FusionPro.Composition.repeatRecordNumber == 15);
FusionPro.Composition.SetBodyPageUsage(16, FusionPro.Composition.repeatRecordNumber == 16);
FusionPro.Composition.SetBodyPageUsage(17, FusionPro.Composition.repeatRecordNumber == 17);
FusionPro.Composition.SetBodyPageUsage(18, FusionPro.Composition.repeatRecordNumber == 18);
FusionPro.Composition.SetBodyPageUsage(19, FusionPro.Composition.repeatRecordNumber == 19);
FusionPro.Composition.SetBodyPageUsage(20, FusionPro.Composition.repeatRecordNumber == 20);
FusionPro.Composition.SetBodyPageUsage(21, FusionPro.Composition.repeatRecordNumber == 21);
FusionPro.Composition.SetBodyPageUsage(22, FusionPro.Composition.repeatRecordNumber == 22);
FusionPro.Composition.SetBodyPageUsage(23, FusionPro.Composition.repeatRecordNumber == 23);
FusionPro.Composition.SetBodyPageUsage(24, FusionPro.Composition.repeatRecordNumber == 24);
FusionPro.Composition.SetBodyPageUsage(25, FusionPro.Composition.repeatRecordNumber == 25);
FusionPro.Composition.SetBodyPageUsage(26, FusionPro.Composition.repeatRecordNumber == 26);
Anyone know if there is a way to write a loop for each page in the PDF template instead of having to add a line in the rule for each page? TIA
__________________
Don Reimer - JavaScript Novice

MAC OS 10.14.6 Acrobat DC FP Creator 12.0.1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2011, PTI Marketing Technologies™, Inc.