drag and drop rule problem

rjhansen

I'm new to FusionPro. I'm trying to create a simple rule using Drag and Drop. I have a series of numbers (1-100) printing on cards. I want the single digit numbers to be a larger font size than the double digit numbers. My data file only has one field, "TableNo".

I have the following:

If "Numeric value of" "TableNo" (my field) is less than "10"

Then Return "FusionProRuleWizard.Action.Change Point Size"

I'm specifying 250 pts for the point size change. When I try to insert the rule, the rule itself is printing on the page with the data and is not changing the font size as expected.

I've looked at at the documentation and searched the forums but haven't been able to figure out what I'm doing wrong.

rjhansen,

Drag and drop is probably not the best way to accomplish this. Try an empty rule with the content below.

if (Field("TableNo") < "10")

return '<z new size="250">'+Field("TableNo");

else

return Field("TableNo");

2 important things to remember:

1. Make sure you check the box at the top of the rule menu for "Treat return strings as tagged text".
  2. When you insert the rule the font size should be the desired size for everything > 10.

I agree that this would be easier to accomplish through a custom rule, but I think the rule as it stands is comparing a string to a string which seems like it would throw off the comparison between the two numbers. I think you probably want to re-write the if statement condition (first line) to be:

if (StringToNumber(Field("TableNo")) < 10)

I've never used the drag and drop before, but I whipped up a quick sample and it worked as intended. I'm attaching a jpg screenshot of what my rule looked like in the drag and drop editor window (my field name was "Qty_S" and I used 25pt font, but you get the idea).