Go Back   PTI Marketing Technologies User Community > Software-Related Talk > Getting Started

Notices

Old March 4th, 2015, 01:42 PM
Forum n00b

Question Using FusionPro VDP to place ID Badge Images

Hello,

I'm very new to this software and have only ever used it to set up mailing panels for postcards and newsletters (that get folded and mailed). A new project is coming in where I have been asked to place images and text, for ID Cards, using FusionPro.

I've looked through some guides, but I feel as though I'm missing an important step. Has anyone done this for a similar project.

I would love if someone could give me a "layman's Guide" to setting up this file. Do the images need a naming convention? Do I need a CSV file for the images? Can I have FusionPro place images and text in the same file?

I am currently using FusionPro VDP Creator 8.1.2
For many of our projects I use InDesign to create the design file and then Acrobat Pro (with FusionPro) to add in the VDP information.

Any help with this would be GREATLY appreciated.

Thank you!
Old March 4th, 2015, 05:43 PM
Training Manager

Default Re: Using FusionPro VDP to place ID Badge Images

CreativeCharacter,
What you are trying to do sounds pretty straight forward. Let's assume you have only 2 fields for the badge: "Name" and "Portrait"

Create your CSV (or tabbed delimited) file with those two fields in row 1 columns 1 being "Name" and column 2 being "Portrait". Your second row contains the values corresponding to each: "Joe Blow" on C1 and "jblow.jpg" in C2. Each subsequent row would contain each respective value for each ID.

Once the list is done, designate the Name frame as "Variable Text" and your Portrait frame as "Variable Graphic", both using the FusionPro palette in InDesign. Then export the document from InDesign using the FusionPro export (this creates the PDF).