Go Back   MarcomCentral (PTI) and FusionPro User Communities > Software-Related Talk > The JavaScript Library > Getting Started, Learning, Etc.

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 14th, 2020, 04:48 PM
geeool geeool is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Hilliard, OH
Posts: 22
Default How to make array data global?

I have an online product that accesses an external data file to pull-in data for generating barcodes. Is it possible to use an OnRecordStart rule to pull in the data from the external data file, put the data into an array and then make the array available globally for use in other rules?

Currently I'm putting the data from the external data file into variables and then creating an array. What I don't understand is how to make it available globally? I've tried using "return arrayname;" in the OnRecordStart rule, but that hasn't worked when trying to use the array in other rules. Is what I want to do possible? Any help is greatly appreciated.

(FusionPro Creator 10.0.6, MarcomCentral storefront)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old January 15th, 2020, 08:16 AM
ThomasLewis's Avatar
ThomasLewis ThomasLewis is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 213
Default Re: How to make array data global?

You can assign global variables in OnRecordStart by omitting the "var " before the assignment.

Then in your other rules put this bit in the top line:
if (FusionPro.inValidation)
Rule("OnRecordStart");

That way when the rule validates, it will load them in and not give you an error that they are not defined.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 15th, 2020, 05:26 PM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,442
Default Re: How to make array data global?

Well, I'm trying to guess at exactly what you're trying to accomplish here, but, while Thomas's advice is not wrong, it could be that you only want to create this array once per job, in which case you could do it in OnJobStart, or even in the JavaScript Globals.

As usual, asking a more specific question (ideally posting the collected template, or at least the data file) is likely to yield more specific answers/suggestions.
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old January 16th, 2020, 11:37 AM
geeool geeool is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Hilliard, OH
Posts: 22
Default Re: How to make array data global?

Thanks - that worked!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2011, PTI Marketing Technologies™, Inc.